A+ A A-

Ruth Emmy - Kenya

Ruth-AchiengBorn in 1991, Ruth Achieng’ Oduor is from Sega, Nyanza Kenya. She completed high school in 2009 at the Ng’iya Girls’ School. While studying in high school, she developed an interest in leadership and development issues leading her to join a variety of clubs; the scouts club, environmental club, and badilisha (the make a difference) club.

After high school, Ruth joined and continues to work for the local youth organization UCAHA. The organization is engaged in volunteerism and community work, which has developed her understanding for the concept community. She connected with Actionaid-Kenya through UCAHA, allowing her to access programs offering young women leadership trainings, advocacy forums, entrepreneurship, and others. These programs and networks increased her interest in further developing her leadership skills.

This interest drove her to apply for a Global Citizen Course offered by Actionaid- Denmark, she was one of the few Kenyans selected for this opportunity.  The course expanded her interests in global issues while being a great resource to develop her knowledge on global citizenship. Upon completion of her course, Ruth looked for other opportunities to offer global platforms and address global issues with an aim of creating positive change. These interests led her to the Youth Without Boundaries (YWB) initiative of Communities Without Boundaries International (CWBI).

Her passion is to make a difference; create positive change in someone’s life, her community, and the world as a whole. In her spare time she enjoys debates, meeting people from different places, networking, leadership forums, advocacy forums, singing and playing scrabble. If given an opportunity to further her education, she would like to get a degree in community development.

Youth Without Boundaries


Patrice Ndambomve - Cameroon
Vuyo Lingwati - South Africa
Samir Raj Acharya - Nepal
Mubarak Lawrence - USA
Ike, Ikechukwu Anthony - Nigeria
Neetu Pokharel - Nepal
Farid Muttaqi - Afghanistan
Andres Cordoba - Colombia
Rashid Raina - India
Zainab Akther - India
Srijan Adhikari - Nepal
Sunita Adhikari - Nepal
Ruth Emmy - Kenya
Meidimi Sokoto - Kenya
Borislav Buljić - Bosnia and Herzegovina
Pawan Roy - Nepal
Benjamen Nforneh - Cameroon
Addishiywot Aseffa Girmammo - Ethiopia
Grace Nyambura Wahome - Kenya
Nkeiru Johnson-Achilike - Nigeria
Whitney Resnik - Zimbabwe, South Africa
Nana Esi Benyiwa Bentil - Ghana
Rewati Raman Dhakal - Nepal
Manitheepan Kandiah - Sri Lanka
Rishika Chauhan - India
Edwin Adoga Ottichilo - Kenya
Wimarshana Nishadi Ranasinghe -  Sri Lanka
Chatura Dissanayake - Sri Lanka
Montserrat Linares - Guatemala
Tinashe Chirape - Zimbabwe
Juan Sebastian Salinas - Colombia
Nirmal Chongbang – Nepal
Joel Fortuné - Haiti
Som Niroula - Nepal
Buddhika Siriwardhana - Sri Lanka
Nanthakumar Jinenthirapirakash - Sri Lanka
Kelvin Mutize - Zimbabwe
Stasa Nikodinovic - Bosnia and Herzegovina
Enna Zone Đonlić - Bosnia and Herzegovina
Rajan Pandit – Co-Coordinator, Nepal
Andrea Linares - Guatemala
Bethany R. Shenise - USA
Emamurho Juliet Ugherughe - Nigeria
Mercy Wanja Njoroge - Kenya
Abishek Karn - Co–Coordinator, Nepal